It’s better to show a message when a user moves to another item with unsaved changes.
An example case is
-User changes the password field on Bitwarden app
-User forgets they need to save it
-User moves to another item without saving
-The changed password is lost and the user cannot recover it
Of course this is a mistake, but it can happen easily. Safety device should be implemented.
Yes, this feature is needed. The history of passwort generator might help you recover an unsaved password, but this issue should really be addressed.
The browser extension should at least remember a newly created but unsaved entry when the extension dialog was closed. The desktop client should do the same or warn the user of the unsaved changes when they switch to another entry.
Currently if you are creating or updating an account using the webextension in the popout window that appears when you click the Bitwarden icon (as opposed to the popup window) - clicking outside the extension’s popout window will close it and lose all unsaved data.
This is a super common usecase, for example, when completing a sign up form and moving back-and-forth between Bitwarden and the sign up page; or when you generate a new password, and go to paste it into the page.
While it’s easy to say “make sure you always hit save before you do anything” - I am repeatedly having this issue with less-technical members on the company account I admin so that advice doesn’t really work for them. Several times a month I’ll get messages from somebody who has lost a password or has given up on Bitwarden for personal passwords because it’s repeatedly not saving credentials and they’re embarrassed about having to always have their password reset.
The webextension needs to not let you wipe out unsaved changes without first prompting to confirm that you did intend to not save.
Saving unsaved changes in a draft area would be ideal.
Another option would be to - at the end of auto-lock time - show a popup with a warning about unsaved changes. The pop-up could stay up for another 30s or 60s and then the vault would lock.
Sucks if you’re away from the device, but if you just got distracted it would save you.
Yup, this is the exact issue that I’m experiencing. I made an account just to post about this issue.
When on a website that you don’t have credentials to yet, there a couple of pitfalls where one has to do it in the right order on the firefox plugin. When I remember to do the steps in the right order, I can zip through a credential creation event. But if I go a while without making a credential, then I find myself creating a credential on a website then using the “forgot password” link right after.
Maybe if a new credential has the username/password fields populated and either the title or website fields also populated, it is autosaved if the plugin loses focus. Another user also suggested a drafts section, that would also work.
When I add or edit an entry in the Web-Vault and accidental click outside of the edit window, then the edit window is closed without asking me if the changes should be saved (this happened several times to me, especially when I have multiple browser tabs opened and switch between Bitwarden and web apps where I want to change my login data).
So here I have a data loss (that must be prevented under the aspects of the usability).
I am not sure if this is a “normal” feature request or better a bug in GitHub!
Not sure what’s the logic of current UX given that losing user data should always a no-go.
In LastPass this has been a non-issue since forever, so reasons such as “This is not possible since the browser controls when that window closes” are moot. Just copy the behavior: open up a new tab with the page for creating a new Login, and move all already entered data to that new tab: