BW ALWAYS Asks for Master Password!?

I’ve looked everywhere and can’t find an answer to this. I’ve been using BW for a couple of years and have been very happy with it. However, recently on my Macbook it forces the entry of my master password every single time. Even if I close it and reopen immediately. I’ve set the timout to up to 24 hours but it doesn’t have an effect (of course “unlock with pin” is checked). My Mac doesn’t have any sort of biometric ID so I really need the ability to use a PIN as my master password is of course insanely long. This will force me to use another manager if I can’t fix it. What am I doing wrong?

@mrspock Welcome to the forum!

This appears to me to be a Bitwarden bug that must have cropped up in the past few weeks. I have seen a handful of other similar complaints (here, here, and here), and the common factors appear to be that the operating system is macOS, and the user has set a custom value for the timeout period. Interestingly, these complaints started around March 17, but there were no new Bitwarden client releases between Feb. 17 - March 20. Unless it took one month for the Apple app store to approve the Feb. 15-16 releases (version 2023.2), this observation suggests that an update in the operating system or browser is the underlying cause for the problem (by causing some incompatibility with Bitwarden’s timeout processes).

I don’t believe that this bug has been reported on GitHub yet, but hopefully someone will do it soon and get the developers’ attention. I hesitate to file the report myself, since I don’t use macOS (and therefore cannot provide the detailed information required for a bug report).

Until this gets fixed, you can select the predefined 4-hour option for your timeout period, which should at least give you a little bit of a reprieve.

1 Like
  1. You mentioned this started recently. Approximately when did this start?
  2. Are you only using the desktop client?