Self-hosted hot standby

So far my company is absolutely fine with Bitwarden availability. I mean, more than a year of intensive usage, and zero perceived downtime ? That’s a solid score among the few SaaS providers that we use today.

However, as a risk manager, I must take every situation in account. Due to the limited features of offline mode, if the web vault ends up down for a while, we might want to switch to an emergency mode with a self-hosted instance having a not-too-old version of collections.

If I understand correctly this doc, I can use our hosted license on an on-premise instance, right ?
Is there any usable “raw sync” mecanism that we could use to periodically download the web vault content and push it into the on-premise instance ? Of course, none of our user’s vaults are to be synced, I’m well aware of the underlying cryptographic notions here. But what about collection data ?

Hi thankfully better offline management and access is in the pipeline and should hopefully come out of the works soon (my hope).

In the meantime the Bitwarden API might be something too look into if you are familiar with and feel comfortable putting together something that could utilize the API.

The Bitwarden CLI will also play into this and scripts can be set up to export organization items for backup, and I’m sure secondary scripts could be used for importing to an on-prem Org as a hotspare.

1 Like

Thanks !

We indeed have quite some experience with the API and CLI, due to our hand-made collection sync bot, which leverage both mecanism. Although we use the CLI only to create newly added collections, the API not being able to do so, but being able to manage group access (I never understood why in the design process, the collection’s name was deemed sensitive and needing encryption, while the access management is left to the API without encryption).