New to Bitwarden, coming from 1Pwd

Good morning,

I am new to Bitwarden, coming from 1Password (almost from v1 if I remember correct).
So, I am used to 1Password (MacOS, iOS) and moving to a new place is always an adventure. We say “never move an old tree to a new location” ;-).

I could import (almost) all items to Bitwarden but I need to sort them again.

Problems I discovered:

• In 1Password I have some items in an “Archive”. I was not able to import those, I get the error message that the file is empty.
  • The GUI is, well, how to say, I need some time to get used to. I dislike the Electron GUI. But I assume that it I possible to design a “better” GUI (sorry to the Bitwarden GUI designers) - as a long term project?
  • I always have change again and again the font size (view) inside the app after a restart of the app. Would be nice to save this settings.
  • Confusing the settings for the menu - minimise in menu, closing in menu, starting in the menu. The German translations make no sense, in my opinion.
  • Switching to the trash (empty now) does not update the details window (for an entry), still showing the item I had selected before.
  • Is there a (public) roadmap with ideas what will be improved, added, …?
  • I could download an licence file (on the account website), do I need this downloaded file for something?

Ok, lets spend the weekend with learning more about Bitwarden and doing some fine-tuning!

Greetings and thanks
Claus

Good morning Claus,

I hope to be able to help you.

Since I have used 1Password in the past, I will tell you that the two password managers have differences and getting used to them is not immediate. I recommend you to consult Help Center | Bitwarden Help & Support

Take a look at Import Data from 1Password | Bitwarden Help & Support

Bitwarden’s GUI is not as nice as 1Password’s. However, you can open a new topic in the feature request asking to improve the GUI.