Login Failure on iPhone app?

I’ve been using Bitwarden for a couple of years on my laptop and iPhone and love it. Then I installed it on my wife’s iPhone a couple of weeks ago and showed her how to log into my Premium Individual account with my username/password. That worked fine until 2 days ago.

Now every time she tries to log in on her iPhone (iOS 14.7.1), she gets an error. She has Bitwarden v2.15.0 installed.

“An error has occurred”

I confirmed that she CAN log in via browser (Chrome or Safari), just not via the iPhone app.

My Diagnostic Steps:

1. I can log into the bitwarden account on my iPhone without fail.

2. After a bunch of tries, I was able to log into BitWarden on her phone just once, never since. I know the Master Password is correct.

3. I removed BitWarden from the phone, rebooted it, then re-installed it. But I still get the same error.

4. I wondered if it was because we were sharing an individual account. So (because I don’t mind spending money to make my wife happy) I upgraded us to the Family Plan @ $40/year), added her as a user, did all the verification, confirmation steps, etc.

5. I confirmed she can log into her new Family account via Chrome browser.

But we still can’t log in on her iPhone app.

Thoughts?

Thanks in Advance

1 Like

Stewart, I am seeing the same errors with multiple iOS devices. I thought it was because of my VPN. Anyone else here seeing this?

Halloran,

Thanks for the quick reply.

The VPN might be the issue, as we just added that to her phone (because she uses her work’s WiFi) but I don’t normally use VPN on my phone.

I’ll have her try turning off VPN and reply here.

Thanks!!!

1 Like

@halloran You were absolutely right. That did the trick.

BitWarden support also suggested that. I don’t understand why VPN would be a problem, but I’ve asked them why, hoping that I don’t have to turn off VPN every time, since I want to keep my iPhone WiFi communications secure - especially when logging into BitWarden!