Deleted password shows up in vault export

I did a vault export and found that the export had 1 more login password than my bitwarden vault. Checking this the additional password is one which I deleted some time ago (and purged from the bin). I checked the browser extension and the vault and the old password is not there. Is there some way to ensure old passwords are deleted never to be seen again?

I have the same problem; except, it is several deleted records that are in the export.

Seems to be a bug that should be fixed. Isn’t it @tgreer?

We’re trying to determine the best way to handle this, since the items in the ‘trash’ aren’t technically deleted yet, and if we don’t export them, someone using the ‘trash’ as an archive may be disappointed on export.

1 Like

But for me it sounds like the trash is already deleted…

And so if I delete an item into the trash and afterwards I delete the trash then this shouldn’t be an archive anymore and an export shouldn’t show formerly deleted items. Right? :wink:

1 Like

If an item was still in the trash and if showed up in the export, I would understand that, but in my case it was an item which had been purged from the trash some days earlier. In this case it should not appear.

1 Like

Why not provide a checkbox like “Include items from trash :ballot_box_with_check:

@xyzzy which client is it? I’ve tested and only items in the ‘trash’ are exported, not purged items.

The password in question I think was deleted with version 1.45.0 of the firefox extension running on windows 7. I am not sure which version of firefox I had then as it has gone through at least one update, but would have been current at the time. I used the web based vault to export from the same computer (so firefox running on windows 7).