Bitwarden Server Setup Problem (Using Nonstandard Port 4430)

Hello everyone,

I am new to Bitwarden and am trying to self host it on my home server. I got it all setup and configured (almost). I have my URL set up and when I navigate to it, the initial login screen comes up. Father than I got when I initially self hosted Nextcloud. So, when I go to login, it gives the “An unhandled server error has occurred” error message. For starters, where can I go to see what it’s complaining about in more detail? We can discuss how to fix it later…

Here is a screenshot of the error I was getting in my browsers console log…

Thanks in advance for all of the help.

Here is another screen grab too… It only let me post one at once.

@Clare_Clever Welcome to the forum!

This is not within my expertise, but to help you get assistance, please post information about the server version you are running (see instructions for determining server version), as well as the OS that the server is installed on.

I am running my home server on Ubuntu Server 22.10. I haven’t been able to get to my admin page. I see that you can access the admin page by going here… your . domain . com/admin (it doesn’t have the spaces like that, the forum won’t let me post with more than two links). My default URL looks like this, https:// your . domain . com:4430/ (again, remove the spaces in my example). I set it up to run on 4430, as port 443 was already being used by Nextcloud. I was thinking that the URL for the admin page would be https://your.domain.com:4430/admin or https://your.domain.com/admin:4430… but neither of those worked. How do you reach the admin page when you have it running on a different port than the default value?

As for my Bitwarden version, I just installed all of this yesterday so it should be the latest version available for my OS.