Auto save newly created login info

Hi,

When I change password or username details for a login already saved in BW it asks if I want to save these changed details. Is there a setting that asks this for newly created login details. Currently with new logins I open BW, generate and copy a password then use that plus a username to register on a new site. Then when that’s confirmed I re-open BW and input the saved password and username with the url. I’m sure I’m doing this wrong. Having moved across from Lastpass (uugh) that is what happened with new logins. Can anyone save me a few steps?

Thanks

4 Likes

Had to register on several sites yesterday and was also missing this feature quite a bit… I’m not sure about the implementation, but if BW recognizes PW changes, it should also be able to spot new registrations, shouldn’t it?

Thanks and regards,
Fabian

2 Likes

It does pop up asking if you want to save new login details but only if it recognises that you’ve just registered on a site. Depending on how the site is coded, it may not be able to tell that you’ve just registered a new account, e.g. field names, form names, etc.

2 Likes

This popped up in suggested answers and it’s pretty good. Also check out his Creating Identities video which is great for completing form.

Hi,
Sorry, maybe I’m not understanding the forum structure, but what is “this” in “this popped up”? I can’t see a link or anything like that which I could check out… also regarding the Creating Identities… Or do you mean danmullen (the author of the post above) uploaded videos somewhere?

Thanks and regards,
Fabian

1 Like

I just did a search and I think this is the YT video referred to:


If this is the official way it looks a bit backwards to me but it seems to work.
4 Likes

Bitwarden is supposed to automatically save newly created logins but it rarely does. Lastpass, which is what I was using before I migrated to BW was much better at detecting this.

3 Likes

Aaah, this is how it works… I think it’s less intuitive than LastPass, but it does its job. Thanks for sharing this!

Best regards,
Fabian

Yes, not terribly intuitive is it!

No, I don’t think that’s the “official” way. I created two new logins yesterday and just let Bitwarden prompt me to save them. The auto save popup works most of the time for me but there are certain sites where it doesn’t. In those cases I just add the account manually.

1 Like

Thanks for the video @rafikiphoto.:+1:

Yes, Not only Lastpass, Most of the PMs are detecting better than BW. This is one of the cons of BW.

BW does not prompt for some common sites (google.com) too.

3 Likes

Not sure if this issue has been resolved but I had this same issue as well. What I did notice is that when the Bitwarden extension was locked (I have my mine set to a specific time before it locks) it would not give the prompt to add a new login. But when the extension was unlocked it gave me the prompt every time I logged into a new site.

1 Like

I’m trying to migrate from LastPass to BitWarden, but this feels like a deal-breaker. LastPass’s UX around this is so much better.

1 Like

Coming from lastpass, that was much much easier, lets say i never had to search for it on the internet

This is not autosave. You are creating a new account in Bitwarden and then use autofill.

Yes mine almost never autofill new password when i changed. Also came from Lastpass

Same to me. The env: Google Chrome browser, BW extension, macos.
It does not prompt to save newly generated creds unlike OnePassword
It would be really killer feature if you had implemented that

1 Like

@danmullen A big issues not mentioned besides convenience is that when Bitwarden generates a password it will copy it to the clipboard and then after a certain amount of time it will clear it (is this controlled by the general “Clear Clipboard” timing option?). Why this is so much harsher than just missing a new login creation is that unless one does a mad-dash to paste that password in another window or in Bitwarden sometimes by the time you’ve realized you haven’t been prompted the password has already been cleared from the clipboard, and lost.

I’ve never noticed this behaviour and I’m not sure that Bitwarden actually does this. Are you sure nothing else is interfering with your clipboard?