Unlock with PIN not working

I’m new to Bitwarden and want to unlock my browser extension via PIN (Brave browser). I have yet to ever be asked to unlock with a PIN, however. I only ever see it asking for the master password (followed by 2FA).

I went to the extension’s settings and setup up the extension like this:
Bitwarden

What did I do wrong or am I missing? BTW, I’m using Windows 10, if that matters.

I saw someone else had this problem on a Mac and rebooting solved the problem. I’ve rebooted and still have the same problem.

TIA

You need to go to tap on the ‘unlock with pin’ then i think there you will see a check mark that active and says Lock with master password when browser restarts you need to disable that.
your problem 100% solved.

1 Like

I checked the ‘unlock with pin’ and set vault timeout to ‘never’,

Now, while I don’t have to enter a password, I’m also not prompted for a pin after leaving the browser running all night or after restarting the browser.

What I want is to have Bitwarden lock after a certain (configurable) time, and require a PIN to unlock - which the above steps don’t seem to accomplish.

Is that something that Bitwarden can do? Also, given that I haven’t yet seen a PIN required, what is the purpose of the PIN?

set the vualt time out to browser restart
set the pincode disable the unlock with masterpassword when browser restart.

Thanks. That seems to have gotten me where I wanted to be.

This makes no sense to me. Palermo’s instructions are extremely unclear.

There are 2 instances of the Bitwarden “app”.

The desktop instance and the browser extension instance.

Which instance is Palermo talking about?

@lewisl Welcome to the forum!

The method described in the posted solution works both in the Bitwarden Desktop client app and in the Bitwarden browser extensions.