TOTP unable to read authentication key

I am currently trying to test using the TOTP option on the application.
I have been using Google 2FA for 4 years now to generate my codes on many sites where 2FA is implemented.
For security reasons, all the items in my 2FA account are transferred to my wife’s mobile.
So far nothing special.I get my wife’s mobile, and I try to set up the 2FA on a single account in my BTW safe. When I click on the camera in the BTW item, my camera opens the QR code of this account is present on the other phone (via the export of Google Authentificator), I open the camera of the mobile, and I scan the QR code generated by Gooogle 2FA with my mobile, but there BTW returns me the following message: impossible to read the authentication key.
So on the account in question in my safe I can’t use the “TOTP authentication key” area. What is my mistake? Thank you in advance for your answer.

The reason is this: Google Authenticator does not have a push notification feature ? Thanks for your answer.

I don’t think Google Authenticator has the ability to export a QR code for individual items. Instead, I believe that QR code you are generating is a proprietary QR code to allow you to transfer your entire Google Authenticator database to another GA app on a new phone.

I did a quick Google search but could not find a way to export the secret keys for each item in your Google Authenticator database so that they can be used in another authenticator app. It would not surprise me if Google did not make this possible, but maybe someone else here knows a way?

1 Like

Thank you for your help
All the more reason to switch all 2FA accounts to authy :wink:

1 Like

After using Bitwarden for 2FA, I’ll never go back to a stand-alone app again except where forced to.

Bitwarden is just so slick and convenient, and arguably it could be the most secure way to store and share 2FA keys among a variety of devices.

1 Like