Still confused about Lock vs. Log in options in the Vault Timeout Action

Newbie here, and I am struggling to understand some things about the two vault timeout options (lock vs. log out). I think it’s because I am not understanding an underlying principle behind BW, so bear with me. (I’ve researched this on the forum, but still am a bit confused.)
My vault timeout action is currently set on Lock, and from what I have read, it’s the timeout option most people select. Here is my confusion:
After I log into BW, it’s my understanding that BW is then “enabled” for me to use. That is, BW downloads a copy of the vault onto my PC. So I log out. Then I simply use BW to autofill my passwords.
My confusion is this: Once the vault is on my PC, isn’t it vulnerable to hacking? And so, wouldn’t I want to select the “Log out” option so that every time I want to use my vault to autofill a password, it requires me to reauthenticate with my master password and 2FA?
In addition, does the vault get cleared from my PC after the vault timeout (15 minutes)? And if that is the case, why don’t I have to log into BW again after 15 minutes?
So obviously I am confused. Can someone clarify for me, in simple language?
PS - I am not clear on the tags or what they mean, so I just picked two.
Thanks

Hello and welcome to the community!

There are generally 3 states: logged out, locked, and open.

When you first log in successfully, you are in the open state, where your encrypted vault is downloaded and persisted on the machine where it is encrypted at all time, and your unencrypted vault and encryption key are in memory. This is where you can autofill and change the content of your vault.