- Better prompts before delete
- Currently, when you delete a record in BW, iit prompts for confirm by saying “Do you really want to send to the trash?”. I am suggesting that the process be changed so that the prompt reads: “Do you really want to send site name to trash?”
- The benefit will be that when you’e deleting a record, you will get a prompt that names the record you’re deleting, in case you happened to misclick.
- Web Interface and Browser Plug-Ins will both be affected.
Related topics + references
- Are there any references to this feature or function on other platforms that may be helpful?
Yes, when you delete a record from LastPass, it prompts you with the site name you’re deleting.
I’m in process of shutting down LastPass and moving to BW, and had to delete a bunch of duplicates, which is what prompted this request.
Am I the only once that thinks this is important?
Hey @lucasjkr welcome to the forum! Give the feature request some time for community discussion sometimes it takes a little time.
@lucasjkr I believe this is a good idea as well. It adds clarity to a destructive command.
I support this, too. I had to pause a few times recently as well when cleaning up accounts and deleted items from my vault. It seems a straightforward change to make and would help to ensure that nothing gets deleted accidentally.
- Providing more clear item deletion notification when trying to delete an item from the Vault view.
- What will this feature do differently? This will help users have a higher level of confidence in items that we want to delete when trying to delete from vault view.
Right now, if I click on an item’s three vertical dots in the Vault Items UI then click delete, I receive a message that says “Delete item. Do you really want to send to the trash?”
What item? Did I click on the item that I thought I clicked on? What if I’m working in a browser and my mouse resolution has gone slightly off and I didn’t click on the item that I thought I clicked on? Having more concrete verification here would raise my confidence that I’m performing the action that I think I’m performing.
- What benefits will this feature bring? Better UI = Better UX = higher user confidence when editing the vault.
- Remember to add a tag for each client application that will be affected.
I just came here to suggest this same thing. If you are simply deleting one item (not using the bulk checkbox method) you get a generic pop-up that says “should I delete this item” and then you second guess if you clicked on the right entry, say no and try again after convincing yourself it is the right one
This is basic stuff from a UI perspective, we know the target, share it. At least it goes to the trashbin for 30 days and can be recovered, so that is a good thing.