Organization cannot add attachment despite premium plan

Hey,
I have a subscription for an individual premium membership. Within my vault, I setup an organization to share common and important info with my family. I just noticed that I cannot attach a file to a shared entry. I get a message that this organization cannot do this. What am I missing here? Do I have to grant this specifically?

1 Like

Hello @Brausepaul,

Sorry you are having some confusion here. Bitwarden offers quite a bit for users, though as you mentioned some features are premium paid features.
Bitwarden licenses these features with a premium subscription, the premium features can either go for your personal vault, or an organizational vault.

When an item is moved from your personal vault into an organization vault, that item is no longer “owned” by you individually but instead gets moved into the Organization and owned by that Org.
You can purchase a premium membership for either your personal vault, or an organization, or even both if you wanted!
Though if you license features for an organization, members of that organization should automatically inherit and gain premium status for their personal vaults as well, so you only need to purchase a single license either personal or for an organization.

You can see more here

If you decide to make the switch from a personal license to an organization license and have any billing related questions you will want to contact the Bitwarden directly here.

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply, I was unaware of this licensing mechanism for organisations I founded my myself. If I understand you correctly in my use case it would suit my needs to move my subscription to organisation level, so all my family members benefit from this, am I correct?

Yup!

That’s how I do it, pay for a family organization which will license the Org for any premium features.
This will allow items in the Org to save attachments, generate TOTP 2FA codes, and much more.