Manually resizable sidebar / columns in bitwarden/desktop app

Hello,

I searched the community feature requests but did not find anything. I found this old issue in bitwarden/desktop, though: bitwarden/desktop#19

As I commented in that mentioned issue, I’d like to be able to manually resize the dividers in the desktop app.

Quoting myself from here:

I stumbled across this issue today as well. The two columns should be resizeable. A lot of screen estate is wasted on the third column on normal widescreen monitors. I have some folders and shared collections with long names and would love to actually resize the first column so that there is no line wrap. I was able to do this in KeepasXC which I used prior and that’s the one feature I am really sore about. :frowning:

(there is also some more valuable input in that issue)

IMO this is expected behavior in desktop apps. Please, keep in mind that I’m no UX designer or expert. I’m open for a healthy discussion, though. :slight_smile:

Cheers!

After I’ve imported my database, in the first 2 minutes of using the app, I’ve struggled with the same issue. I hope somebody will take this into account even it is an old request, it is almost common sense to have this feature nowadays.

Thanks,
M.

We also have this problem after importing our password database with around 400 collections. Many of the collection names are too long for one line and break into a second (or even third) line which makes it very messy and difficult to read.

The problem could be solved or defused a lot with a very simple adjustment of the max-width value in the .vault.groupings css class. Currently that is set to 250px. Setting that to 500 or 600px would help a lot for us. And it wouldn’t hurt people with shorter folder names since it’s only a max-width so it gets smaller with shorter names.

Based on your suggestion, I created the following PR: Widen the sidebar to 600px max by Rabattkarte · Pull Request #1503 · bitwarden/desktop · GitHub