Fraudulent Activity on my Debit Card

Hi, All,

I am new to Bitwarden in the past few weeks. I put my debit card number in the vault. This morning I got a call that there was fraudulent activity on my account and I had to cancel the debit card, get a new one, and change all the details where it’s used for automatic payments.

I’m guessing this is a coincidence but is there a way to be sure? I’m not sure how anyone could have gotten my debit card number without my knowledge. It just seems so suspicious that it happened close to when I started with Bitwarden.

-Kevin

I am convinced that this is a coincidence, if …

• you protect your Bitwarden account with a decent password (=12+x common upper & lower case and special characters and some numbers)
  • you do use 2FA for your Bitwarden account
2 Likes

THanks for replying!

I would also just double-check that the call you received was, in fact, genuine. It sounds very scam-like!

3 Likes

I was concerned about that, but they did not ask for any information they could use to scam me, and they patched me through to my bank at the end of the call.
-Kevin

How can you be sure that you were actually talking to your bank ? From my point of view you can only be sure if you call them by using a phone number from a document that has been in your possession since a long time.

1 Like

Isn’t in usual circumstances that you are required to report to the bank about any fraudulent activity on your card and not the other way round.:thinking:

Maybe you could check your statement if infact there was a fraudulent charge or not.

If it was the case , possible reasons could also be due to a data breach on a merchant website you entered your credentials into. Though they are not supposed to save your cvv no.
As a good practice be cautious of where you enter your credentials (is the website/merchant reputed)
And also keep your bitwarden 2FA always on.

1 Like