I unfortunately ran into a flaw of export vault on web vault. I shared all my items to an organization but then wanted to unshare them. There is no unshare option so I went to my vault and exported to .json then purged my organization. The flaw is that the export vault .json file was empty except for the metadata for folders (reminder i exported my vault from my vault page, and purged my organization from my organization page). Therefore my vault lost!!
Yes I should have checked the .json file to be sure, but I was operating under what I thought was careful measures. I luckily had a backup from a week ago, but I lost 10+ passwords!
I tested this by doing it again in the same process of steps laid out above. .json file was empty again.
Feature requests: 1) Unshare Option and 2) to be able to export vault items from your vault page even if they are shared to an organization, or 3) at least have better warning of exporting shared items or better confirmation of number of items exported. (currently the only communication about shared items I could find was “they will be owned by the organization”, but its frustrating that they still appear in my vault giving the impression that the export vault tool will still work within ‘my vault’)