Bitwarden redesign?

Feature name:

• Bit warden 2021 redesign

Feature Description

• Hello everyone,

I just started to use Bitwarden and I really like it. But I think we could probably improve a lot the UI to have something a bit more modern and also a bit easier to use. I am an UX engineer, I can probably help on this :slight_smile: I never participated to an open source project so I don’t know if this is the right way to suggest this kind of work. I guess I would need the help of a few front end developers, but we could make huge progress quickly on this.

Let me know what you think.

8 Likes

I am not a dev
But do you have some mockups/images on how you are planning to do the redesign?

1 Like

Hi @LemonTree , welcome to Bitwarden!

This sounds like an ambitious project, and while commendable and the help is much appreciated, I would like to suggest that if you’re wanting to contribute to the UI/UX of the product, please start with some well-defined scope (vs. complete redesign, which would likely not make it in). I would say if there’s a specific client (mobile, browser, web, desktop) that you feel needs a refresh, something about user interaction, usability, etc. please add those proposals here. Keep in mind that consistency is also one of the things that adds value to the product and most of the clients are (for the most part) consistent in appearance and function across devices/platforms.

3 Likes

I’d be primarily interested in UI updates for the web vault, which is less usable than the LastPass web vault I’m migrating from. Firstly, the folders sidebar should scroll separately from the accounts list. Accounts should also be draggable to the folder sidebar, because that’s much faster than clicking an account, scrolling through the folder list, then clicking save.

The header above the accounts list should also be fixed, so that users don’t have to scroll all the way back to the top of the page if they’re editing item(s) far down the list.