Biometric unlock browser extension feature, multiple browsers?

Note: Your question may already be answered in the [Bitwarden Help Center] (Help Center | Bitwarden).

Ive been using the new Biometric unlock feature recently which is excellent, but I have a question. Ive been unable to enable this feature in additional browsers after setting up this feature in my default browser first. Is this a built-in restriction or a restriction of the API used, whatever the cause I’d really like to use this feature in all my browsers on my Win 10 PC as I use multiple browsers for assorted reasons. I’m not a developer myself but would think this can’t be intended restriction could it in the API?

If anyone reading this has been able to do what Ive not pls do fill in what I’m missing??

Thanks

Bitwarden biometric feature supports multiple browsers, but it works by creating a special “native-messaging” file in the browser-specific location.

On Windows Bitwarden 1.25.1, Bitwarden adds 2 registries:

So,

• If the Chromium browser shares the ...\\Google\\Chrome\\... location, they may also work (I think this is the case for Vivaldi, Brave, etc., but need to make sure).

• If the Chromium browser uses a unique location (not too sure if any do), this means support for feature doesn’t exist on those browsers.

• For Firefox, the feature is only supported on new v87, which came out today.

You may want to list out which browsers are working vs. not working to get better support.

You can also see some other limitations at Unlock with Biometrics | Bitwarden Help & Support, quoted below:

Supportability

Unlock with Biometrics is supported for Extensions on Chromium-based browsers (Chrome, Edge, Opera, Brave, etc.). Unlock with Biometrics is currently not supported for:

• Safari
  • Firefox (there’s a required up-stream enhancement to make nativeMessaging optional, documented here).