Best Practices - Log Out or Lock?

I am new to BitWarden (LastPass refugee) but with the help of the Community I am getting better. At this point I “know” enough to at least pose these questions:

In my settings there is a Vault Timeout option to either Lock or LogOut. Is one better than the other? Briefly, why? Is anything left open in an unencrypted form (e.g. data.jason)?

When I am quitting BitWarden there is an option to Lock or LogOut. Is one better than the other? Briefly, why? Is anything left open in an unencrypted form (e.g. data.jason)?

From previous postings it seems that if one has locked the vaults but has not logged out, the data.jason file can be copied, so that is why I am trying to understand this better.

Your experience and insights on this will be appreciated.

It’s pretty simple:

• Logging in retrieves a copy of your encrypted vault data from the cloud, stores the encrypted data file (data.json) in persistent storage on your device (e.g., on your hard drive), and automatically proceeds to unlock your vault.

• Unlocking reads the data.json file, decrypts its contents, and stores the decrypted vault data in the memory of your device.

• Locking clears the (decrypted) vault data from the memory of your device, but leaves the encrypted data.json file in persistent storage on your device.

• Logging out clears the memory of your device (same as locking), but also purges the encrypted contents of the data.json file. Thus, your device no longer contains any vault data, either encrypted or decrypted, neither in memory nor on disk.

The majority of users stay logged in all the time, and just lock their vaults when not in use.

3 Likes

Another section I’d like to point out, if you enable Unlock with PIN or Unlock with Biometrics the Unlock is done in a slightly differently.