Argon Settings Question

If my main desktop rig has only 2 cores, should parallelism be reduced to 2 threads or is it irrelevant?

After reading some literature, I’ve cranked up memory to almost 800 MB and have iterations at 3.

Also, in my research I read there may be a way to attack Argon (can’t remember if it was 2d, 2i, or 2id) if iterations is below 10. Anyone know anything about this? I seem to think it pertained to side channel attacks against Argon2d, but I really can’t remember and I am just learning from a beginner level.

Also, KeePassXC devs told me the difference between Argon2d or Argon2id is irrelevant for their usage. KeePass official documentation says the side channel attacks are only theoretical and are not believed to be a real threat, so they prefer Argon2d by default, for greater resistance against real-world threats.

For my KeePass database I have iterations closer to 20 and I adjust the memory size depending on if the database is being used locally or being uploaded to the cloud. When storing it in the cloud, I use a much more aggressive memory setting since local threats generally do not concern me.

Parallelism in my KeePass database is set at 2, the default, while currently I have my BW parallelism at the default that I think is 4, which may be too high for my 2-core main CPU, but on the other hand I read BW’s Argon may only be single-threaded anyway, so this setting may be wholly irrelevant.

Looking forward to any informed insights.

Argon2id does not have the side-channel risk that Argon2d has. That being said I understand KeePassXC’s reasoning. If there is malware on your computer that can exploit a side-channel, you have much bigger risks to your vault.

1 Like