Any idea if this feature is being worked on and if so, does there happen to be a timeline on a release?
This is pretty crucial for premium users if they stored sites with TOTP. If I delete the entry and later need to log into that site I’m screwed. I can use a “forgot password” thingy for most situations unless 2-factor authenticators were saved in the vault.
Plus, it just seems easy to implement.
Add an is_deleted flag to every entry and default it to N.
Then, in the vault just show items with is_deleted = N
A trashcan folder would contain anything that has is_deleted = Y with an option to flip it back to N.
That’s how medical records systems handle deleting things because it’s crucial we don’t actually delete anything. Even if the software vendor has to troubleshoot your database, they’ll never delete. They may create a copy of a table as a backup and fix what they need to in the actual table. If I had something that did need changed for technical reasons they may set up the query for me but say it’s up to me to test and actually execute the change.
Additionally, given the tiny size of this sort of data and its value, I wouldn’t design a user vault to hard delete anything until someone deletes their account.
We are planning on moving our company to Bitwarden and not having a trash for deleted items is one of the main pain-points, so: is there any ETA for this?
Besides that, it would also be really great to have a «trash» in Organizations, so that only Admins & Owners, for example, could delete items from.
My company would also love to see this feature - any feedback on this? Is this in development? Thank you!
I totally agree with @eucalypto
There is a pretty big difference between archival and deletion.
They could be implemented in a similar fashion, but semantically they mean very different things, and combining them into one feature could have unexpected consequences, both for UX and for general integrity.
For example, systems that have a trash feature inevitably also have an “empty trash” feature to easily and quickly clear them permanently. I see no reason why this wouldn’t be added here as well. But if I “delete” an item in order to archive it, I (or someone else with adequate permissions) could accidentally empty the trash without realizing that it was holding at least some items just to keep them from being searched.
Also, if I archive an item and then later delete it from the archive, I’d expect the item to be moved to the trash just like every other non-deleted item. Maybe I deleted the item from the archive by mistake…
So there are quite a few use cases that indicate that these should be separate features. The only two things I can think of that they share is that items in an archive or in a trash should be hidden from search (or even just the regular list of items) unless they’re explicitly being looked up, and that they should continue to respect their original permissions from before they were archived or trashed.
Both features make a lot of sense, though I personally came here looking for an archival feature. Whatever the case, it’s really important in my opinion that they be kept separate.
This option would be kind of crucial.
Is this feature request continued and what is the current status ? It seems neglected.
Trash/undelete feature, including organisations, and backup/restore encrypted vault are the 2 things stopping me moving to bitwarden.
Please advise if these are due to be implemented soon.
need this too. Up
Anything on this? Any ETA? Does devs progress on this?
I’ve just switched from Lastpass and signed up for premium. I noticed the lack of this feature on day 1 and it is definitely something I’d like to see to protect against irreversible accidents.
I also just switched over from lastpass, and am looking forward to using Bitwarden for not only personal use, but if I think the feature set is right, I will pitch that we move our business from lastpass to Bitwarden. I think for that to happen though, this would be a fantastic feature to have.
@kspearrin @Bitwarden - I think it is really impolite not even to answer on that topic. It is a justified and usual request. Why don’t you update on this topic ? What is the current status ? Are you even considering implementing this feature ?
As some of the thread contributors said, this feature is kinda crucial. And nobody wants to fully restore the docker container or mysql instance just to get one password back, especially when having more than one user/organization on it.
Has there been any word on soft delete to the trash yet?
Please add a trash folder for soft delete.
Pros: everyone makes mistales (especially me).
Cons: BW cloud usage never goes down = cost = make it a premium only service!
Same here. In a team it is really required i think.
I got locked out of an account a while back because I forgot to click save.
The password on the site never updated, so my old password would’ve worked.
Still hoping for this feature!
I am new to Bitwarden and to be honest I find it quite surprising and unsettling that the user interface lets you delete an entry with a single click with no way whatsoever to recover the deleted entry.
For important, sensitive and hard to recover information such as logins the user interface should AT LEAST ask twice for confirmation (e.g. with a text field where you have to enter the word “YES” or something similar) or even better ask for the master password to delete something.
Not even having a recycle bin is a big NO-GO for me.
It’s way too easy to acceidentaly click on the delete button.
Please consider adding a recycle bin feature and a better confirmation when deleting items soon.