Secure Password Sharing (Distribute access without exposing the password)
Bitwarden Secure password sharing without sharing the actual password, and revoke access anytime without the password being revealed.
What is secure password sharing?
This feature guarantees that your data is kept encrypted, and when you share your password, you can invite the user to obtain access via email; once the user approves, passwords are securely stored in their vault.
So only those with access privileges can log in using it, and there is an option not to reveal the password by default unless it is shared to be revealed, which could make it less secure.
As just a result, only those with access privileges can log in and gain access to it.
And what’s the importance of all this?
Sharing your credentials is often irreversible, whether with a coworker, a roommate, or a family member.
That being said, giving your passwords via email or text is risky.
Third parties can easily intercept them, especially if you use a vulnerable service.
and you’re ensuring that your sensitive data is safe while being sent to others, that it can be revoked at any time without having to change the password, and that nothing is compromised.
When sharing a password, there are three options for access levels: full access and limited access and owner access:
When you securely share an item in your encrypted vault with some other user, you have the option of granting full or limited access.
Giving someone full access to a shared item means that the receiver will have unrestricted access to, view, edit, and use the item.
Additionally, a receiver with limited access will only have partial control over the item: for example, some details will be blacked out and inaccessible for editing, and the password will be hidden.
However, even if the information is blacked out using the password manager, the receiver will still be able to use the passwords with auto-fill under limited access.
Owner of the password access: If you’ve shared an item with another user, you can choose to make that user the owner of the item.
Once granted, the Owner rights allow not only viewing, editing, and sharing of the item but also rescinding access from other users with whom the item has been shared.
Password changes and updates:
If the owner of the password changes the password, it should be synced, and the password should be updated if it has changed, and it will be encrypted and updated in the vault.
Once access has been revoked, the user who received the password shared with them should not be able to access it and it will be removed from the vault.