New User, I want to believe but I have concerns

Hello All,

I am totally new to password managers and it is something that has been nagging at me for some time. I looked at several of them and I have selected Bit Warden due to positive reviews, support for hardware security keys, open source and of course its very reasonable pricing.

I have some questions and concerns I would like to clarify before I go all in. I have setup one test log in for my web hosting service so I put something rather critical into the hat, I have tossed out the old password and had BW create a strong 14 character password in its place.

I currently am using vault.bitwarden web interface and that works pleasantly with a nice dark theme and seems to be somewhat intuitive once you get the hang of things. I have used it to log into an account by clicking on the account and copying password to clip board and pasting it into the password field, this works. This brings me to my first question…

When copying a password to the clipboard, is it encrypted or plain text?

Next up I have the google chrome browser extension installed, so far just not feeling it. Seems redundant on the desktop as it is just another interface and another log in…Which leads into my next question…

On my desktop PC I can download the desktop app, I can use the web interface, and/or the browser extension, again it all seems redundant. Is this a case of pick the interface you like best and stick with it? Is there an advantage of the desktop app from the web interface, such as if there is a service disruption with BW as I read about recently, would your passwords still be available?