Multiple User, Multiple Databases?

Hi everyone,

first of all: I’m pretty new to Bitwarden so I may can happen that some of stuff I’m about to be asking is already answered.
So, let’s get to it.

1: My Plan is to self-host Bitwarden, either in a docker container or on a Linux Vm. Nonetheless, I’d like to run my own database separate from Bitwarden. Is there a way to tell it to use a different database, i.e MariaDB?

2: And speaking of a different database: If I have 2 Users, how many Databases do I need? Cause from my understanding, I’d need at least 2, right? Does this mean Bitwarden, if installed on Linux as an example, creates its on database times how many users u have and thus, creates a lot of resource hunger, so to speak?

3: What does Bitwarden install in total, i.e Do you need everything it wants to install or can u shrink it/modify it?

4: If I want to have my Work and Private Passwords Split, do I need to create 2 separate Users for, each with their own database?

I know this might be a bit too much to ask on a Community Forum but maybe someone else has similar Interest, what can be done.

Cheers and Thanks in advance.

Hello @deltaexray and welcome to the community,

There are a few ways to roll out your own self-hosted instance of Bitwarden. Depending on your use case, and requirements. I’ll do my best to answer your questions here.

1. The typical Bitwarden install uses an mssql database, though there is a very new and recent Bitwarden Unified beta available which allows for Bitwarden to be self-hosted with the use of an alternative backend database.

Though I would caution that is still in beta at the moment, so you may wish to test but it may not be stable enough to recommend for production use if you will be utilizing this daily as your main password manager with multiple users, at least without several different back up methods.
Otherwise I recommend going with the tried and true methods of the current standard install method.