HTML Changes for Keyboard Accessibility

Feature name:

• Improve Bitwarden Keyboard Navigability

Feature Description

I’m new to Bitwarden, coming over from on-and-off usage of Lastpass. I’ve seen 1Password keyboard navigation in action and think Bitwarden can undergo some seemingly minor changes to improve Keyboard navigation.

Looking over elements in the Bitwarden Desktop app, I see that most interface elements are <a> tags, which don’t offer a whole lot of functionality out of the box. Seeing all the requests for keyboard navigation, I think it’d be possible to create a fairly simple keyboard navigation scheme with much less tabbing involved if those elements were thoughtfully switched over to well-styled <input>s and wrapped in the right markup.

• This would create 3 “sections” that you could tab between - the left column, the middle column, and the right column. Navigating within a column would use arrows.

• This type of solution would leverage the benefits of using an HTML renderer, which includes lots of functionality and accesibility features out of the box (Styling too, but we’d me largely ignoring that in this case). Finally, a counter to the endless woes of people complaining about Electron apps.

• This would be a cleaner and more reliable alternative to keeping the tags and adding a key listeners, associating logic, etc. It would react as expected by most people accustomed to navigating forms and other UI site elements with a keyboard.

• It would also dramatically improve accesibility for those that need things like screenreaders, if I’m not mistaken.

Clients / Repos Affected:

• Desktop

If this works out, I might be able to try my hand at the browser extensions as well.

Timeline to completion (estimate):

Would prefer to hear what the devs have to say about this before I start doing any work.

Tagging @tgreer and @kspearrin, as per the pinned topic, unless I misunderstood: