FIDO2 on Android, Web and in the Server

Feature name: FIDO2 on Android, Web and in the Server

Feature Description

• The idea is to apply the FIDO2 for Android, web application and for the server;
  • Where the user can authenticate using FIDO2 as two-factor, where he can use “Platform (Windows Hello, Pin, biometric)” and “Cross-Platform (Yubikey)” keys to authenticate;
  • On the server side I use “fido2-net-lib” to treat the FIDO2 data;
  • On Android and in Web application I use the FIDO2 API of Android and the Web Application;
  • This way you guys can remove the old version FIDO U2F, for this version and in this version android FIDO2 works;

Clients / Repos Affected:

• Server
  • Web
  • Mobile

Timeline to completion (estimate):

I have already FIDO2 running on Android, web application and server.

I am studying FIDO2 for my course and this is my proof of concept, so I want to show you my result, but I need to talk to you alone, if you can send me a message, I can show you the result.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/elton-pastilha/

3 Likes

I think Bitwarden has already implemented WebAuthn/FIDO2 support in most of their products (everything but mobile?), but it isn’t in an official release yet.

Not too sure what Bitwarden’s status/progress on Android is.

Server:

Web Vault:

We haven’t started on Mobile, it’s actually a card on our development board for Q2, so was going to be the next thing the team snags to start work on (but as of today, has not started).

I will soon (next 4 days) put my project here server, web and mobile, I am just waiting for fido2-net-lib to release a small update that is coming soon to resolve a problem on Android origin on the version 2.0.0. And then you all can check my code on the Android and create one project adapted for WebAuthn.