Disable auto update and Install of new version when using portable version

I use the official portable version of the desktop app (PC). When the new version is available, Bitwarden performs auto update on the next launch and installs a new version using a regular installer regardless of the fact that a portable version is used.
I believe that this is a wrong behaviour for the app, and instead, it would be appreciated if the app determined what version is utilised by the user and updated it accordingly, i.e. overwritten portable version files using portable installer, or installed a new version in the system ONLY if the app was previously installed.
This behaviour is true for many other programs that have both installed and portable version, and it would be great to see in this app as well.
Alternatively, just use notifications instead of the forced installation, so the user can download a new portable version himself.
Thank you.