Default Organization/Ownership

Hi, I think it would be great feature to have a setting to control what the default ownership or organization should be. This promotes sharing and centralization - otherwise the entry would be created in the user’s vault.

1 Like

Definitely interested in this feature too… Any news on this one ?

The ability to set default organization for new items would greatly easy the adoption in family sharing scenarios.

My wife and I actually switched to a shared account because of this issue. It’s a single point of failure, but it makes it usable for non-technical users.

I wonder if different behaviour for different accounts is really what we want though? In a truly shared environment maybe users could be given the option to disable their own vault? Perhaps some businesses might want to do this by default so everything in here is shared, rather than risk passwords vanishing into the cloud when employees leave?

1 Like

For our Enterprise organizations, there is a Personal Ownership policy that does require all items be saved to a Collection within the Organization.

https://bitwarden.com/help/article/policies/#personal-ownership

We also have a policy captured to ‘default’ to Organization ownership on the backlog, too.

3 Likes

Cool, that’s a powerful incentive to upgrade! I think the default could still be preferable for most though as there are times you do want to keep things to yourself (your TOTP seeds for example).

1 Like

I am chomping at the bit to have this in the Family plan orgs as well. Please put this in place!

i support this request

I would like this feature as well.

agree! in particular would be good to be able to change it

thanks

Someone shared their experience, which is nearly identical to mine and my wife’s:

It’s too much trouble and it could be avoided. Simply give each user the option to set a default container for new entries.

1 Like

Agreed. This would be a great feature! Enterprise Policies exist to remove personal vaults, but Owners aren’t affected by that, so default ownership is still private for them.

Yes, please. This is needed.

I’m interested in doing the same. Can you explain how to switch to a shared account? (without losing my hundreds of logins, IDs, credit cards, etc.)