Autocomplete default username (+random password) when creating new entries (or option in generator)

When creating new entries, I always have to type in the same old email addresses and usernames that I use with almost every other site. It would be great if there was a way to speed up this process, for examples with an autocomplete functionality on the username that suggests commonly used usernames from your other entries.

What it could look like:

There are two ways I could see this working, either the data from the autocomplete comes from what you’ve used with other entries, or it only takes as suggestions the email addresses from your identities that you’ve created.

I would like to explore this idea as it is an annoyance for me and prevents me from quickly set up new entries with just a few mouse clicks (for password I always use the generator). As I’m a developer I’d like to implement this feature if other people would like something like this too, and if it’s feasible (as in, it doesn’t require a change in the API or would lead to secrecy concerns, for example).

17 Likes

Maybe I’m doing it wrong, but every time I use the chrome extension to add a username for a new item, I have to manually type it in. It’s not a big deal, just inefficient.

Would it be possible to have usernames remembered with the option of auto-filling?

2 Likes

I just created this account for the sole purpose of creating this request. Anyone else tired of typing in the whole e-mail address all the time?

10 Likes

Just a small addition that I would find very useful, but when adding a new entry, and typing in the email/ username, it would be great if Bitwarden suggested the emails and other usernames from preexisting entries.

Like Keepass:

Hopefully this can be implemented!

1 Like

Interesting idea - and perhaps also emails from identity items?

2 Likes

Perhaps also! That would be great. Just a small feature :slight_smile:

Indeed, Lastpass did this brilliantly. Please add this.