Angular component tests

Hi,

Firstly, love the product, and you won me over from LastPass recently with being open source and simple to use.

I am a frontend developer (mostly Angular) in my day job, so I have been looking at the Browser, Web, and Desktop repo’s codebase with keen interest. I noticed that Angular components and services are lacking component/unit tests, so I was wondering if you’d be open for contribution via PR in that area and whether it’d add value to you?

If the answer is yes, my follow-up question would be whether you have any preferences on the testing style. Angular’s out the box testing functionality is great, however in my experience, it can be a pain to set up the fixture, fire events, run change detection and so on. It can also be abit hard to read when the setup is more complex. I’ve been liking the testing approach of https://testing-library.com/ and their angular flavour Angular Testing Library | Testing Library. Would be good to hear your thoughts.

Thanks,
William

1 Like

Hi William,

I wouldn’t suspect the dev team, would have anything against more tests.

Regarding frontend test-frameworks, currently jasmine and karma are used in bitwarden/jslib

I’m also in the midst of adding a testbed in the bitwarden/directory-connector, as I would like to make sure I do not break behaviour before fixing a bug. I did have some trouble setting it up though, as I’m more accustomed to the backend(C#, ASP.NET), but would like to further improve my frontend-skills.

Maybe @MGibson could give us some insight/guidance, regarding frameworks and testing styles.

For end-to-end testing, at one of my previous employers we used cypress.io, which was pretty awesome and might be an option.